“Islands in Autumn” Reaches the Hompage of National Geographic!

“Islands in Autumn” has become my most popular photograph over the last two weeks. Ten of thousands of visitors have reached my website and the feedback that I have read and received, has been wonderful.  I have read comments about it being a comet,  asteroid  or an iridium flare. I would like to tell everyone that indeed, this is a genuine Orionid Meteor. I have followed meteor showers for at least the last 10 years. I was a teenager when I  saw the Leonid Storms of the 90’s from my back yard and it really sparked an interest. 

One of the biggest factors that hurts your chances of viewing these showers  besides the ability to stay up all night is light pollution and  weather.. If it’s cloudy, you won’t see a single meteor and with light pollution, it turns night into day. I have photographed various meteor showers from many places in the US , some of those places are  Mauna Kea, HI,  Kauai, Maui, Utah, Arizona, Wyoming, Montana, Vermont, Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New Hampshire and St. Thomas. 

Here is a photo of a Perseid Meteor exploding over the Pacific Ocean .  Taken from the southern coast of Kauai, August 2010. I love the reflections in the water.

Kauai - Perseid MeteorQuadrantid Meteor 2011 Quadrantid Meteor Over Coastal Maryland.

Perseid over Utah 2011

Perseid Meteor - Utah

Quadrantids January 2011. Maryland

Quadrantid Meteor Over Coastal Maryland.

New meteor photos November 2011 will be posted the first week of December 2011. Good luck!

One response to ““Islands in Autumn” Reaches the Hompage of National Geographic!

Leave a Reply

