Where is the Snow?

Snowmageddon 2009

Snowmageddon 2009

It’s now January 17th, 2012. My car is clean, the roads aren’t stained with salt, the grass is green and I wore a t-shirt outside last week.  Is it really mid-January? The last time we had a  measurable snow was in October 2011 when we received 7″ of heavy wet snow during peak foliage conditions (the 100 year storm) so rare I was so excited for this event. I wonder if I had jinxed myself somehow that day though. I remember saying to myself  “I’m so happy I had the chance to photograph  snow during peak foliage conditions, I don’t care if we do not get anymore snow this year, I’m happy with this rare snowfall.”  (as seen below)

Combining Seasons

Combining Seasons

Well so far, besides two other dustings of snow, we haven’t seen anything. Philadelphia  has no snow this year, Boston has only have a couple inches.. What is going on? The last 2 years we have broken snowfall records time and time again.. Now it seems as the snow has run out. Some factor that play into the lack of snow are this. The jet stream is in a position which allows warmer air to flow up in front of the storm systems that ride along it and all storm are moving to our north and west, we need them to our south and east. Need a Greenland high pressure to help out.

  This Season Average season-to-date Last season-to-date
       
Boston 2.7″ 17.2″ 40.4″
Hartford 14.6″ 15.7″ 45.4″
New York 2.9″ 8.6″ 30.9″
Philadelphia 0.5″ 6.6″ 21.1″

As you can see snowfall is way below average for this time of year. In  previous years I had already found myself in handfull of snowstorms, this year, I struggle to find it anywhere.

December 2010

December 2010

 
Tree of Winter

Tree of Winter

 February Nor’Easter 2010 – Snowmageddon

Snow Camping  January 2010

 
 Snow Camping January 2010. Each winter I watch the forecasts like a Hawk wishing for a monster storm to ride up the coast. If / when it does I will be there waiting for it. I love how snow can transform any landscape urban or rural into something entirely different. Something as simple as a  tree in your backyard can turn into something new and beautiful.
On the Road

On the Road

 White out conditions make for deadly travel during the day and at night. I have documented some of the biggest snowstorms on the east coast and if it wasn’t for reliable equipment it could have been ugly a couple times.
 
Driving through 15" of snow

Driving through 15" of snow

 Being able to get around in snowstorms forced me to sell my old 1999 Chevy  Camaro SS a few years back (still miss her). I needed something that could handle every season and I couldn’t afford to get stuck in two inches of snow again with the SS.
 
Buried

Buried

 With a possible snow for the I-95 corridor this weekend, I will keep by eyes on the weather and hope for a snow. Winter better get it’s act in gear soon or I will have to think about moving to Canada. The jet stream needs to change its route, or we won’t see any major snowstorms this year. So far this winter it has stayed to my north and west, We need it t dip in the central US and ride up the eastern seaboard to get some heavy snowfalls.
 
Super Blizzard 35" of Snow 2010

Super Blizzard 35" of Snow 2010

 
 February Thundersnow
 
Battling the Cold

Battling the Cold

 
Protecting my gear/equipment  is just as important as protecting my well being.
 
Ice Night

Ice Night

 
The track a storm takes will determine where the snow/rain line will be. When warm air overrides colder air you can get sleet and freezing rain. Freezing rain is a nightmare, I can drive in 20″ of snow, I can’t drive in freezing rain.. unless it’s a flat road then maybe.  This particular night we had about one inch of freezing rain which brought down numerous trees and powerlines. It also turned the landscape into an incredible winter wonderland. As shown above.
 
Snow on the Coast

Snow on the Coast

 
Hope you have a winter filled up tons of snow!
7 responses to “Where is the Snow?

  1. Head West young man!…Seattle and Western Washington got snow today and more is expected…too bad you are on the east coast tho…to far to travel for a snow event!…Love your work!

    • I so wush I could, Ron. It can be difficult to just get up and go somewhere, but you are right, I need to get in the mountain west. I live vicariously through the weather channel almost everyday :)

    • Thanks! Me too. it was very early in the morning. We were hit by a noreaster in 2009 dumping 35″ of snow, 2 days later we got hit by a second noreaster which brought another 3 feet of snow. Best Winter of my life…

  2. I come from a tropical country and always feel wistful when I see pictures like the first and last. Then I see the “Snowmageddon” in the middle section and that little voice in me whimpers and cries.

  3. i’m in wisconsin, and we were in the same boat until about two weeks ago (we got ~8 inches in two snow storms). it’s still nowhere near what we usually get, though! great pictures :)

Leave a Reply

